Tags

, , ,

I admit, I thought Emma and Remy would become friends much quicker than they have.   I’m feeling a little defeated today.  We have good days and bad days and there doesn’t seem to be much rhyme or reason as to why some days Emma is irritated by Remy.  I feel so badly for her and I want so much to help her be the best dog she can be.

I think I’ve written about Emma’s history before.  She didn’t come from a good situation and she was extremely timid when we got her.  Right away I started working with her and she was doing so well.  She had become so comfortable and happy in our home.  She was sweet and friendly and gentle and obedient.  Now she is anxious again, very similar to how she was when we got her.  Some days are better than other days but what it boils down to is that she is just not herself.

I’m overwhelmed and I feel like I have to spend all of my time trying to work with her.  I feel like I’m the only person here who is really trying to understand her and the whys of why she is acting the way she is.  I feel like I just can’t do it all myself.  I *might* be a little hormonal because I’m really weepy about it all today.  I just feel overwhelmed.

I want Remy to have a great home and a good friend and example in Emma.  I want the same for Emma.  I called and made an appointment to have them temperament tested next week.  Remy just needs to learn manners as he is only 4 months old, he has a sweet temperament.  However, the trainer wants to evaluate them together.  I’m perfectly willing to spend money on our pets and their needs but I’m really anxious about what this could cost.  I have a feeling that Emma would respond really well to the residential boarding and training program.  In that program she would receive really good, consistent training/behavior modification and socialization with a variety of dogs at the hands of a skilled trainer.  I want to do whatever is best for her but the whole idea of it is quite overwhelming.  I am almost sick at the idea of what it might cost to help her through this anxiety.

I’m just not having a very good day as a dog owner today.  I feel like I’m failing miserably somehow and I’m working so hard to do it right.  Hopefully I’ll have a more positive post soon.

