Tags

*** updated with pictures I forgot to add earlier.

I am one of those moms.  One of those car seat crazy moms.  I have 4 children ages 6, 8, 9 and 14.  The 3 youngest all ride in high back booster seats.  It is now the law in Michigan but I insisted on it long before it was a law.  My 9 year old is about 60 lbs and the high back booster seats are recommended up to 80 lbs.  My kids know no different – car seats have been a part of their life since the day they were born and they have a better view in them. Keeping 4 kids in car seats – we did at one time – is quite a job.  And an expense!  We have purchased more car seats than I can count.

When my husband was in a car accident with all the boys we went right out and replaced all the car seats.

Safety First!

So, when we got Emma and she started going for car rides I knew we would have to find a safe way to travel with her.  I purchased her a seat belt but she hated it.  And it gave her too much slack so she continuously got herself into painful positions.  When we got Remy I mentioned to a friend I was going to have to purchase one of those car barriers to keep the dogs in the back of my car.  I drive a very large SUV and there is plenty of room for both of them back there. I had one years ago but during a car change I had gotten rid of it.  I happen to be back in an SUV now so I wanted to buy another one.  She happened to have one in her garage she wasn’t using anymore and gave it to me.  What a great gift from a generous friend.

I am adamant that dogs need to be restrained to be safe while traveling.  If your unrestrained children would fly through the window in an accident, it stands to reason your pets would too!  And, pets don’t have the sense to get themselves to safety so if a pet were to end up out the window and miraculously unharmed from a collision, it’s very likely they would run into the street and be hurt by oncoming traffic.

I’m a safety girl and I want my kids and my pets safe.  Plus, when my pups are at home I feel safer driving home from Costco with all those groceries safely behind metal bars.  I often think about what kind of damage flying cans would do in an accident.

You can purchase car barriers from many places. The one I have is sold by Foster and Smith here for $99.

Emma and Remy will spend a lot of time together back there this summer.  They have lots of room to hang out, snuggle and play when they aren’t busy looking out the windows.  Remy is especially fond of jumping around back there and one time he even squeezed through that open area above the tire.  Nick really needs to fix that side because he put the panel on upside down.  That side doesn’t fit so great because my spare tire is in the way.

And yes, I know I said my 3 little guys ride in high-back booster seats but for some reason one of them wasn’t in my car when we went for our ride.  I will be investigating where that extra seat is before we go out again.  Oh, and we were parked here so that’s why seat belts are half off – funny how these photos aren’t the picture of safe travel I envisioned posting.

A barrier I see more often but don’t care for as much is also sold by Foster and Smith here.  It is significantly less pricey at $49-$69.  This barrier certainly serves the purpose of keeping the pets safe but I like the double duty provided by the other barrier with the greater coverage.  In my mind it keeps more things restrained – like grocery items and other cargo.

I have not done any research as to prices for these items elsewhere but I’m sure there are other retailers and I would certainly price match before buying.  Personally, I would put a want ad on my local Craigslist before buying something like this new but that’s just me and I’m frugal like that.

We do a lot of traveling in the summer.  I appreciate any travel tips you have to share.

I’m on the hunt for a good travel system for feeding our dogs.  Recommendations?

